WAC 388-400-0035

Effective July 1, 2001

WAC 388-400-0035 Refugee medical assistance--Summary of eligibility requirements

  1. To be eligible for refugee medical assistance (RMA), must:

    1. Provide the name of the voluntary agency (VOLAG) which resettled you;

    2. Meet the immigration status requirements of WAC 388-466-0005;

    3. Meet monthly income standards up to 200% of Federal Poverty Level (FPL).  Spenddown is available for applicants whose income exceeds 200% of FPL (see WAC 388-519-0110);

    4. Receive refugee cash assistance (RCA); or

    5. Be eligible for, but choose not to apply for or receive RCA.

  2. You are not eligible to receive RMA if you are:

    1. Eligible for Medicaid; or

    2. A full-time student in institution of higher education unless the educational activity is part of a department-approved employability plan.

  3. Refugee families, including families with children who are United States citizens, are treated as single assistance units according to chapter 388-408 WAC.

  4. If you are meeting the requirements of this section, you are eligible for RMA only during the eight-month period beginning in the first month you entered the United States (see WAC 388-466-0130)

  5. A recipient of RMA whose earned income goes above the income standard remains eligible for RMA benefits until the end of the RMA eligibility period.

  6. A refugee recipient of Medicaid, whose eligibility ended due to excess earned income, is transferred to RMA without eligibility determination for the remainder of the RMA eligibility period.

This is a reprint of the official rule as published by the Office of the Code Reviser. If there are previous versions of this rule, they can be found using the Legislative Search page.