Washington State Department of Social and Health Services Home page

Behavioral Health Advisory Council

Behavioral Health Advisory Council Overview and History

The Washington State Behavioral Health Advisory Council (also referred to as "the Council") previously known as the Mental Health Planning Advisory Council (MHPAC) has a membership consisting of consumers, providers, advocates, and governmental representatives. The membership represents a balanced representation of the state’s population with respect to race, ethnicity, disability, and age, urban and rural. The Council partners with the Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery to make decisions that will best serve citizens in need of mental health and substance abuse treatment and prevention programs.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) has provided an opportunity for States to submit a joint application instead of two individual block grant applications: Community Mental Health Services and Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment.  Beginning Federal Fiscal Year 2012, Washington State submitted its first Unified Block Grant application.  However, implementation/progress reports for both block grants will remain separate.

SAMHSA also encouraged States with Joint Block Grant applications to create a joint advisory council. Washington State transitions the previous MHPAC into a council that addressed all behavioral health issues: mental health, alcohol and substance abuse, and problem gambling.

The Council operates under Public Law 102-321, and is responsible to perform the following specific duties:

• Review plans provided to the Council by the state, and to submit to the state any recommendations of the Council for modifications of the Plan under the above stated Public Law.

• Monitor, review, and evaluate, not less than once a year, the allocation and adequacy of mental health services within the state.

• Study programs and services, analyze problems, and identify gaps and barriers in the services system.

• Review the materials provided in order to participate in a discussion and analysis of current mental health programs and ancillary services.

• Solicit representative points of view from the communities represented by the Planning Council members concerning mental health issues and disseminate information on mental health issues within those communities.

• Create and manage subcommittees, as it may deem necessary, to facilitate and inform its work.
The Council includes representatives of state agencies, public and private entities concerned with the need, planning, operation, funding and use of mental health services. The Council meets the requirements of Section 1914(c) of the Public Health Service Act, which stipulates that "not less than 50% of the members of the Planning Council shall be individuals who are not State employees, or providers of mental health services." The ratio of parents with children with serious emotional disturbance to other members of the Council also meets the requirement to provide adequate representation of such children in the deliberations of the Council.

History of the Council

Annabelle Payne Community Member 3/1/2015
Armando Herrera Community Member 3/1/2015
Becky Bates Community Member 3/1/2014
Carolyn Cox Community Member 3/1/2015
Carrie Huie-Pascua Community Member 3/1/2014
Cassie Undlin Community Member 3/1/2014
Dawn Maloney Community Member 3/1/2015
Dorothy Flaherty Community Member 3/1/2015
Eleanor Owen Community Member 3/1/2014
Jo Ellen Woodrow Community Member 3/1/2014
Ken Ryan Community Member 3/1/2014
Mary O'Brien Community Member 3/1/2015
Phillip Gonzales Community Member 3/1/2014
Sandy Gregoire Community Member 3/1/2015
Stokely Leggett Community Member 3/1/2014
Susan Kydd Community Member 3/1/2015
Glen Ludwig Community Member 3/1/2015
Ruth Leonard DBHR-CD Treatment  
Melodie Pazolt DBHR-MH Treatment  
Michael Langer DBHR-Prevention/Promotion  
Steve Kutz IPAC Tribal Representative  
Cindy Robison IPAC Alternate  
Mark Freedman Regional Support Network  
Jalane Christian-Stoker ACHS Chair  
Vacant Division of Vocational Rehabilitation  
Marci Arthur Division of Developmental Disabilities  
Bianca Stoner Insurance Commissioner's Office  
Barb Putnam Children's Administration  
Greg Williamson Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction  
Pamala Sacks-Lawlar Division of Juvenile Rehabilitation  
Kathy Morgan Division of Home/Community Services  
Kathleen Arnold Department of Corrections  
Tory Henderson Department of Health  
Jeanette Barnes DBHR  
Beth Dannhardt CD Residential Services  
Tim Smith CD Youth Residential  
Heather Maxwell MH Quality Review Team  
Anita Gallagher Problem Gambling Provider  

Your recomendations, comments or suggestions are welcome.
We want to hear from you!