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* AHCAS is an ADVANCED training initiative for Individual
Providers caring for Service Recipients with Complex Needs

* The pilot goal is to improve health, reduce the frequency of
challenging behaviors and empower people receiving personal
care service to engage, maintain and/or attain the highest
quality of life

* Benefits include behavior support, enhanced Person-Centered
practices, enhanced relationship with the Caregiver
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 |Pis offered 70 hours of training focused on
person-centered approaches to care.

 Skills attained are able to be implemented the
next day providing care

e Support is within scope of care
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Determining client criteria

What does it mean regarding support

services? ‘
Collaborating with Health Home care
coordinators and client support systems

Case managing and referral of behavior
support
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» AHCAS pilot participants agreed to have an updated HAP

» They can pick one goal or problem or continue to work on

goals already established
» Add a supportive role for the IP at the care receiver’s direction

» This is a billable appointment for Tier Two Services
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* You may be notified of a person who wants to
participate, but has not been engaged for a
period of time or they have opted out.

* Reengaging the Health Home Client who is not
disenrolled

* Process for disenrolled Health Home clients

Washington State D

 After the HAP is completed

* AHCAS monitoring
e Contacting and reporting
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* They notify case manager that they no
longer want to participate

e Client is admitted into an institution over

30 days

Washington State Depa

Home
website
contains a
link to the
AHCAS
website
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Washington Health Home Program

Announcement

rog:

Fl dment by the Centers for d Medicaid

Recorded i
hitps:/furveue youtube comjwatch?v=Hnfv2a_Thce

Recorded genersl information sbout Pediatric Heslth Homes can be viewed at: hitps://wuw.youtube com/watch?
v=CMWHEIWBOOALfeature=youtu be

Achieving Washington State's Vision of Integrated Services

The Department of Socisl and Health Services and the Health Care suthority have been
collaborating on the Health Home program with federal per

received strong support from individuals, lacal health care providers, an:
both i i

, or 8 mental heslth

Health Homes seek to address complex health issuss by offering:

+ comprehensive care mansgement;

Training Links

+ Advanced Home Care
Aide Specislist Filot

risk scoreof L5 or Toolkit

Beginning in 2017, HCA and DSHS will add Health i jices to King and Snohomish Thiswill result in
id , with Health ilable in all 29 Washington counties. This addition is pending fins| approval of the State
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nichowr@dshs.wa.gov

» Dawn Okrasinski for HCS/AAA 360-725-2503
okrasdm@dshs.wa.gov
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Objectives for Today

* Know who is a Vulnerable Adult
* Know who is a Mandatory Reporter
* Know what APS investigates

* Know how to make a report and what to
expect afterwards
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RCW 74.34

In 1984 the Washington State Legislature passed
the Abuse of Vulnerable Adults law, RCW 74.34

The law addresses the reporting and
investigation of abuse, abandonment, neglect,
self-neglect, and financial exploitation of
vulnerable adults and, if allegations are
substantiated, protective services.

Washington State Department of Social and Health Services

Who is a Vulnerable Adult?

e Chapter 74.34 RCW and WAC 388-71-0100
provide definitions that apply to the APS
program.

A vulnerable adult is defined in RCW 74.34 as:

* Individuals 60 years of age or older who have
the functional, mental, or physical inability to
care for themselves; and


http://search.leg.wa.gov/wslrcw/RCW  74  TITLE/RCW  74 . 34  CHAPTER/RCW  74 . 34  chapter.htm
http://search.leg.wa.gov/wslwac/WAC 388  TITLE/WAC 388 - 71  CHAPTER/WAC 388 - 71 -0100.htm
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Who is a Vulnerable Adult?

Adults over age 18 who:

* Have a guardian appointed through superior
court as per chapter 11.88 RCW; or

* Have a developmental disability as defined in
RCW 71A.10.020, such as intellectual
disability, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, autism, or a
condition similar to intellectual disability
which originated prior to age eighteen; or

Washington State Department of Social and Health Services

Who is a Vulnerable Adult?

* Live in a facility licensed by DSHS (e.g., adult
family home, boarding home, nursing home,
soldier’s home, residential habilitation center,
children’s foster home); or

* Receive services from an individual provider
as defined in RCW 74.34.020; or



http://search.leg.wa.gov/wslrcw/RCW  11  TITLE/RCW  11 . 88  CHAPTER/RCW  11 . 88  chapter.htm
http://www.leg.wa.gov/RCW/index.cfm?fuseaction=section&section=71A.10.020
http://search.leg.wa.gov/wslrcw/RCW  74  TITLE/RCW  74 . 34  CHAPTER/RCW  74 . 34 .020.htm

Washington State Department of Social and Health Services

Who is a Vulnerable Adult?

* Receive in-home services through a licensed
health, hospice, or home care agency; or

* Self-direct their own care to a personal care
aide who performs that care for
compensation (RCW 74.34.021).

Washington State Department of Social and Health Services

Who Must Report?

20
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Mandated Reporters

By law, those professionals mandated to report
suspected Abuse, Abandonment, Neglect,
Exploitation of Person or Financial Exploitation
of vulnerable adults are: DSHS employees;
individual providers contracted to provide
services to a DSHS client; county coroners or
medical examiners; employees of a facility
licensed by DSHS, including:

21

Washington State Department of Social and Health Services

Mandated Reporters

* Adult family homes, nursing homes, residential
habilitation centers, and soldiers’ homes; social
workers; health care providers as defined in RCW
18.130, such as a doctor or nurse; Christian
Science practitioners;

* Employees of a social service, welfare, mental
health, adult day health, adult day care, home
health, home care, or hospice agency; law
enforcement officers; and professional school
personnel.

22
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Permissive Reporters

Persons who are not Mandatory Reporters are
called Permissive Reporters and are encouraged
to report. Permissive Reporters include:

* Any person (friend, neighbor, relative),
including:

* Attorney
* Employee of bank

23

Washington State Department of Social and Health Services

What Can APS Do?

APS receives and investigates reports of
allegations of abuse, abandonment, neglect,
self-neglect and financial exploitation of
vulnerable adults living in the community and in
facilities.

24
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What Can APS Do?

APS conducts investigations at no charge and
without regard to the income of the alleged
victim.

Some protective services may be provided
without cost.

25

Washington State Department of Social and Health Services

What Can APS Do?

The vulnerable adult or legal representative
must give written consent for protective
services and may end the services at any time.

APS may pursue a protection order on a
vulnerable adult’s behalf without consent if the

vulnerable adult lacks the ability or capacity to
seek one on his/her own.

26
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What Can APS Do?

* Determine the validity of allegations of abuse,
abandonment, neglect, self-neglect and financial
exploitation from available information

* Determine current risk factors and supports for
the vulnerable adult by assessing, as warranted:
physical, functional and mental abilities, the
conditions of the environment, support systems,
and relationships

* Provide protective measures for a vulnerable
adult alleged victim when necessary

27

Washington State Department of Social and Health Services

APS Limitations

* APS services are voluntary.

* APS is not able to remove the alleged victim
from his/her home without his/her
permission, or detain the vulnerable adult due
to capacity issues.

* APS does not assume placement or discharge
responsibilities from the home, hospitals or
facilities.

28
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Types of Allegations

29
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Risk Indicators

* Dependency of abuser on vulnerable adult

* Dependency of the vulnerable adult on the
abuser

e Disturbed mental state of the abuser
* History of abuse

* Mental or physical frailty, disability or
impairment of the vulnerable adult

30
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Allegations

* Self Neglect

* Abandonment

* Neglect

* Financial Exploitation

* Abuse: sexual, physical, mental, personal
exploitation, improper use of restraints

31
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Possible Self-Neglect Indicators

* Inability to manage finances

* Changes in mental functioning

* Cannot perform activities of daily living
* Not keeping medical appointments

* Poorly kept environment

* No food in the house

* Malnourished/dehydrated, weight loss

* Physical sores, poor hygiene, body odors

32
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Possible Neglect Indicators

» Statements that neglect is occurring

* Poor hygiene

* Delays in or doesn’t receive medical treatment
* Unusual weight gain or loss

* Hazardous, unclean, unsanitary living conditions
* Dehydration

* Hypothermia or hyperthermia

* Decubitus ulcers

33
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Possible Financial Exploitation Indicators

» Statements that financial exploitation is occurring
* Bills not paid

* Signing documents without full understanding of
consequences

* Possessions are disappearing from house

* Unexplained withdrawals from accounts

* Unauthorized ATM withdrawals

* Forged signatures

* Sudden change where mail is sent

* Missing checks "

17
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Possible Physical Abuse Indicators

» Statements that physical abuse is occurring

* Unexplained injuries, broken bones, bruises, burns,
open wounds

* Lacerations, welts or black eyes

* Symmetrical grip marks

* Unexplained paranoia

* Depression, suicidal threats

* Sudden changes in behavior

* Apathy

* Signs of physical restraints

* Denial of problems (when other indicators are present)

Washington State Department of Social and Health Services

Possible Sexual Abuse Indicators

* Statements that sexual abuse is occurring

* Unexplained bleeding, wounds, or pain from orifices
* Bruising around genital areas

* Unexplained STD

* Painful urination or defecation

 Difficulty walking or sitting

* Pregnancy

* Inappropriate sexual behavior

* Repressive behaviors

* Fearful bathing

 Self-destructive behaviors “

18
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Possible Mental Abuse Indicators

* Statements that mental abuse is occurring
* Demonstration of excessive fear

* Withdrawal

* Low self-esteem

* Extreme passivity

* Unusual agitation

* Nervousness around certain people

* Excuses why cannot make phone calls

* Excuses why cannot leave the house

* Increased ambivalence

* Increased anxiety 7

Washington State Department of Social and Health Services

Where to Report
2011 DSHS Regional Map

38
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Online Reporting

https://www.dshs.wa.gov/altsa/reportadultabuse

Report Concemns Involving Vulnerable Adults

*** PLEASE CALL 911 IF THERE 1S AN EMERGENCY ***

All reports will be screened by Adult Protective Services and/or Residential Care Services. /f the person is in immediate danger, call
911.¥ou do not need proof to report suspected abuse and you do not need to give your name. Ifyou are a provider filing 2 mandatory
report, please complete 2 Residential Care Services Online Report.

O ©

Report Online Report by Phone

Washington State Department of Social and Health Services

APS

* Region1 1-800-459-0421
Email: R1APSIntake@dshs.wa.gov

* Region 2 1-866-221-4909
Email: R2ZHCSAPSIntake@dshs.wa.gov

* Region 3 1-877-734-6277
Email: HCS—R3S—APSIntake@dshs.wa.g%v

20


https://www.dshs.wa.gov/altsa/reportadultabuse
mailto:R1APSIntake@dshs.wa.gov
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No Wrong Door

Complaint Resolution Unit (CRU)
For reporting provider practice concerns
1-800-562-6078  (TTY) 1-800-737-7931

END HARM: 1-866-363-4276 (1-866-END-HARM)

41
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When Should You Report?

When you have reasonable cause to believe
that Abandonment, Abuse, Financial

Exploitation, Exploitation of Person, or
Neglect is occurring.

42
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How Soon Must | Report?

Report immediately to DSHS if you have
reasonable cause to believe that a vulnerable

adult is being harmed.

You do not need proof of harm.

43
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When to Call Law Enforcement

Immediately report suspected sexual and physical
assault to both law enforcement and DSHS.

44

22



7/11/2017

Washington State Department of Social and Health Services

What to Include in Your Report
(Do not hesitate to report due to lack of information.
Often the department or Law Enforcement has details)

* What makes this person a vulnerable adult?
* What is the allegation? What has occurred?

* Name, birth date and Social Security # if known
of Alleged Victim (AV).

* Address, telephone, contact information.
* Current Case Manager information.
* Alternate decision maker information.

45
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What to Include, cont’d

* Name, address, and phone number of alleged
perpetrator (AP).

* Other interested individuals (collateral persons).

* Any other information which will assist in
investigation (safety issues, family dynamics,
relevant history, work schedule).

46
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What Happens After Your Report?

* APS Intake will determine if an investigation is
warranted and assign the report to a APS
Investigator.

* Report of suspected criminal activity is made to
law enforcement.

* AV, AP and collaterals are interviewed, risk
factors are determined.

* Immediate protective services are offered,
if needed.

47

Washington State Department of Social and Health Services

What Happens, cont’d

* Determination made whether mistreatment
occurred, based upon collected information.

* APS will make a finding of Unsubstantiated,
Inconclusive or Substantiated.

48
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Response Times

* Initial face-to face contact with
the alleged victim will vary from 24 hours to 10
working days, depending on the allegation and
the risk to the alleged victim.

* Duration of investigation depends on multiple
factors and varies. There is no time limit on
investigation length or AP Interview.

49
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Reporting Protections

* Immunity: When making a report in good faith
or testifying about the Abandonment, Abuse,
Neglect, Financial Exploitation, Exploitation of
person or Self-Neglect.

* Confidentiality: Identity of person making the
report can remain confidential unless
a report is made to law enforcement, or
there is a judicial proceeding, or the
reporter consents.

50
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Summary

* Know if you are considered a mandatory
reporter.

* Know who is considered a vulnerable adult.

 Stay alert to possible signs and symptoms of the
different forms of abuse.

51
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Summary

* |f you think someone may be in danger or needs
urgent help, call 911 immediately.

* Immediately report any suspected
Abandonment, Abuse, Exploitation, and Neglect
(including Self-Neglect) when you have
reasonable cause to believe harm has occurred.

* If in doubt, call. APS Intake will be happy to
discuss the circumstances with you.

52
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Video

Martin’s Story

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=02Ui1SrOd4l

53

Resource for Translations of the PHQ-9 and
GAD-7

naire (PHQ) Screeners

Select a Screener

Screener Overview PHQ and GAD-7 Screeners
. Recognizing signs o mentalhealh dsordes s oo aays sasy.
The Patient Health Questionnaire (PHQ) is a diagnostic tool for =
e webpsite S po nsore mental health cisorders used by heslth care professionals that is
sy mplete. 1950,

o o Robert L. Spitzer, MD, Janet BJMW. Willizms, DSW, and Kurt
. Kroenke, MD, and colleagues at Columbia University developed click here to access the
Yy 1zer IS loCated at: the Primary Core Evalustion of Mantal Digorders (IMEWD), s | Instruction Manual

diagnostic toel containing modules on 12 different mental health

disorders. They worked in collaboration with researchers at the

Regenstrief Institute at Indiana University and with the support of
an educational grant from Piiz During the

htt / /WWW. h screeners of PRIME-MD, Drs. Spitzer, Williams and Kroenke, created
. . the PHQ and GAD-7 screene:

The PHQ, a self-administered version of the PRIME-MD, contains

Com the mood (PHQ-9), anxiety, alcohol, eating, and somatoform
. modules as covered in the original PRIME-MD. The GAD-7 was
— subsequently developed as a brief scale for amxiety. The PHG-9, =
tool specific to depression, simply scores each of the & DSM-IV.
criteria based on the mood medule from the original PRIME-MD.

The GAD-7 scares 7 comman anxiety symptoms. Various versions
of the PHQ scales are discussed in the Instruction Manual

by author

All PHQ, GAD-7 screeners and translations are
dovmloadable from this website and no permission is
required to reproduce, translate, display or distribute
them.

7/11/2017
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Washington

1&. Health Home Program

Certificate of Completion

Mandated Reporting- Adult Protective Services

and the
Advanced Home Care Aide Specialist Pilot

Jackie Heinselman, APS Program Manager
Carol Sloan, APS Program Manager

Dawn Okrasinski, ACHAS Program Manager

Department of Social and Health Services — Aging and Long Term Support Administration

Webinar aired on: May 11, 2017 in Lacey, Washington
for Health Home Care Coordinators and Allied Staff

Training Credit of 1 Hour

Please sign and date to attest that you reviewed this PowerPoint

Your Signature Date

Supervisor’s Signature Date
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