Minutes

Child Support Schedule Workgroup
Subcommittee: Residential Credit
May 5" 2023

To access the meeting online and to register: Residential Credit Webinar Registration

Members Appearing:

Kathleen Senecal James Clark

Jennifer Turner Carol Ann Slater Facilitator: Rachel Tumbleson
Gaston Shelton Bernardene Charley Note-taker: lan Hall

Public Attendees: None

1. Welcome & Introduction
2. Report-out on research that was gathered
o What threshold does the residential credit kick in for other states?
= 2022 National Parents Organization Child Support & Shared Parenting Report Card:
Technical Supplement
= Page 22 has a graph of the thresholds states use.
= Mean/median value of 29% corresponding to 106 overnights
e Jim suggests 14% or 1 night per week
= Discussion of ‘overshooting’ which happens in some shared parenting models in other states
o These states have a formula used to calculate support in cases of shared parenting
=  How much shared time/custody is in the economic table?
e  Currently assumes there isn’t much shared parenting
o How can we address concerns regarding low income CP’s?
= No protection for failing to meet a shared parenting schedule
=  Some workgroup members expressed opposition to a presumptive residential credit without
any protections
= Florida statute 61.30.11(c) — allows for modification if a person fails to meet their parenting
schedule, retroactive to the date of failure.
= Build in automatic modification for failure to honor Residential Schedule? — would need to
build it into the statute
e  What about an automatic review?
o Could build a DCS process of review for compliance w/ Parenting Plans?
o Admin orders would be easier to modify. Still lengthy modification for court
orders.
= Could we just have a clause that makes orders change retroactively for non-payment?
e Florida Statute has retro adjustment for failure to comply with a shared parenting
o How do other states address violations of split schedule?
= Are ALJ’s allowed to adjust for parenting time?
e (Can provide or withdraw a residential credit, but cannot address parenting
plans/custody.
e How long would someone need to fail to comply with share parenting order to seek
a modification to remove residential credit?
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https://flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2021/61.30

o Truly a case by case decision.
= Reviewed 5 states — did not have a retroactive effect.
e Mods typically go back to date of filing, not date of failure to meet parenting
schedule
e Still had to wait 6 months with substantial changes of circumstance, or needed to
wait the full 2 years before modification
=  Florida Statute discussion
e Probably want to have a length of time of failure to comply with Shared Parenting
Time
e Retroactive adjustment can create a burden to the paying parent, large arrears can
be difficult to overcome for parents.
e Proving when the failure to honor the residential schedule occurred would be very
difficult.
o What are different worksheet models being used?
= Arizona — has a table we could use
3. Discussion regarding preferred model
o Worksheet Calculation
= 2015 CSSW Suggestions (Plotnick chart from page 27)
e Members agree
o Cautious around usage of overnight, some parenting arrangements aren’t
that way
o AZ Guidelines (page #17) have a breakdown of what counts as a day
= 12 hours or more = 1 day
= 6-11 hours =% day
= 3-5hours =% day
= Less than 3 can count as a % day, if there are expenses associated.
=  Members also support this type of breakdown
o Shared Parenting threshold for credit
= 14% (one overnight/one full day per week)
o Protections for low income CP’s
= Not following a shared parenting agreement is a ‘Significant change of circumstances’ for
purpose of modification
o After 90 days?
o Group feels this is a bit too short
e Over $1000 in child support arrears?
e 6 months
o Group agrees
= Retroactive to date of violation
e Proving this is difficult
e Group agrees, but more discussion is warranted
= Tie to the Self-Support Reserve. If CP’s income is below no credit applies
e  Group supports
4. Decisions, tasks, and next steps
o Kathleen - 2015 CSSW Recommendations
o Jim —Excel Spreadsheet for calculation of days & overnights
o Group thinks research is mostly complete, time to flesh out ideas.
o Feedback for breakout rooms in the full meeting
= Choosing between multiple subcommittees is difficult
o Next meeting: May 18" 9:30 am — 11:30 am
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https://www.dshs.wa.gov/sites/default/files/ESA/dcs/documents/15CSWORKGROUPREPORT.pdf
https://www.dropbox.com/s/b2j91awn8g0ge3e/AZ_Child%20Support%20Guidelines.pdf?dl=0

