
Presumptive Minimum

Alabama
Rule 32(A)(Comment):  For combined gross incomes below $550, the  amount of child support is discretionary.  
There is no dollar amount prescribed by the rule.

Alaska Civil Rule 90.3(Commentary)(VI)(C):  $50/family/mo

Arizona
Arizona Child Support Guidelines as per Arizona Revised Statutes 25-320(15):  There is no prescribed presumptive 
minimum amount.  It is discretionary.

Arkansas Administrative Order Number 10:  No presumptive minimum is listed.

California

Family Code Section 4055(b)(7):  Rather than a presumptive minimum amount, there is a low-income adjustment 
when the net disposable income of the obligor is less than $100/mo.  The maximum low income adjustment 
allowable is calculated by multiplying the child support amount as otherwise determined by the following fraction:  
($1000 - obligor's net disposable income/mo)/$1000.

Colorado Section 14-10-115 C.R.S.:  $50/mo (which does not apply when an adjustment for residential time is given)

Connecticut
CGS Section 46b-215a-4a(c):  10% of net income for one child, and gradually increasing amounts for additional 
children, up to about the poverty level.  However, if the obligor's net income is less than $50/wk, then there is no 
obligation.

Delaware

To be incorporated into a Family Court Rule:  "No person shall be assessed a support obligation of less than 20% of 
the primary support allowance for the number of children for whom support is sought except: (a) This limitation 
shall not apply where children reside in shared (at least 175 overnights in each household) or split (at least one child 
of the union with primary residence in each household) placement, or (b) A disabled person with actual income of 
less than the self-support allowance may be assessed a lesser obligation upon consideration of the nature and extent 
of the disability, cash and other resources available, and the totality of the circumstances."  (Section V: 2006 
Summary of the Delaware Child Support Formula Evaluation and Update 
[http://courts.delaware.gov/How%20To/Support/?ChildSupportGuidelinesEdV121106.pdf])

District of 
Columbia

Child Support Guideline Revision Act of 2006 (g)(3):  $50/mo

Florida F.S. 61.30:  There is no presumptive minimum listed.

Georgia
O.C.G.A. Section 19-6-15(i)(2)(B)(ii):  If the calculated child support award would be less than $75, then the 
minimum child support order amount shall be $75.

Hawaii Family Court Child Support Guidelines: $50/child/month

Presumptive Minimum

page 1 of 3 August 2007



Presumptive Minimum

Idaho I.R.C.P. Rule 6(c)6 Section 4(d):  $50/child/month
Illinois 750 ILCS 5/505:  There is no presumptive minimum listed.
Indiana Indiana Rules of Court Child Support Rules:  There is no presumptive minimum listed.

Iowa
Child Support Guidelines pursuant to I.C. Section 598.21:  The presumptive minimum is $50 for one child/month, 
$75 for 2 children/month, $100 for 3 children/month, or $125 for 4 or more children.

Kansas Kansas Child Support Guidelines:  There is no presumptive minimum listed.
Kentucky K.R.S. Section 403.212(4):  $60/mo

Louisiana
R.S. 9:315.14:  Except in cases involving shared or split custody, the court shall not set an award of child support 
less than $100.

Maine M.R.S.A. title 19-A Sections 2001-2011: No presumptive minimum is listed.

Maryland
Maryland Family Law Code Ann. Section 12-204:  It is unclear whether or not a presumptive minimum exists (see 
table in (e)).

Massachusetts Trial Child Support Guidelines (II)(C):  Presumptive minimum of $80 per month.

Michigan
Child Support Formula Manual 1.08:  "Support should not be recommended in amounts of less than $25 per month 
(plus that parent's share heath care and child care), unless the court deviates from the formula."

Minnesota
M.S.A Section 518A.42 Subd. 2:  The presumptive minimum for 1-2 children is $50/month, for 3-4 children is $75 
per month, and for 5-6 children is $100 per month.

Mississippi Miss. Code Section 43-19-101-103:  No presumptive minimum is listed.
Missouri Civil Procedure Form 14:  No presumptive minimum is listed.

Montana
ARM 37.62.126:  A calculation exists for the presumptive minimum, and it is dependent upon the income of the 
NCP.  Detailed instructions for the calculation are found in Rule 13 of the Montana Child Support Guidelines.

Nebraska
Child Support Guidelines(I):  Minimum support is $50/mo or 10% of the obligor's net income, whichever is greater.

Nevada
NRS 125B.080:  The presumptive minimum is $100/mo/ch unless the court makes a finding of fact that the obligor 
is unable to pay the minimum amount.

New Hampshire
N.H. Rev. Stat. Section 458-C:2:  $50/mo unless the court determines a lesser amount is appropriate under the 
particular circumstances.

New Jersey New Jersey Rules of Court Appendix IX A (20):  $5/wk
New Mexico N.M. Stat. Sections 40-4-11.1:  There is no presumptive minimum listed.
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New York

N.Y. Dom. Rel. Law Section 240(1-b)(7)(d):  When  the  annual  amount  of  the  BSO would reduce the  NCP's  
income  below  the federal poverty income guidelines amount for a single person, the BSO is $25/mo  or  the  
difference between  the NCP's and the self-support reserve, whichever is greater.  When the annual amount of  the  
BSO  would  reduce  the  NCP's income below the self-support reserve but not below the federal poverty income 
guidelines  amount for  a single person, the  is $50/mo or the difference between the NCP's income and the self-
support reserve, whichever is greater.

North Carolina North Carolina Child Support Guidelines:  $50/mo

North Dakota
NDCC 75-02-04.1-04:  There is no presumed minimum.  However, the statute says that "a support obligation should 
be established in each case where the obligor has any income."

Ohio Ohio Rev. Code Section 3119.01 et seq:  There is no presumptive minimum listed.
Oklahoma There is no presumed minimum listed in Okla. Stat. Tit. 43 Section 118.

Oregon OAR Division 50 Rule 137-050:  There is no presumptive minimum dollar amount prescribed by the OARs.
Pennsylvania Pa. R. Civ. Pro 1910.16:  There is no presumptive dollar amount prescribed by the rules.
Rhode Island Administrative Order 2002-03:  $50/mo

South Carolina Southern Carolina Soc. Serv. Reg. 114-4710(A)(2):  $100/mo

South Dakota
South Dakota Cod. Laws Section 25-7:  There is no presumptive minimum dollar amount prescribed under these 
laws.

Tennessee Rule 1240-2-4-.03(6)(a)(4):  $100/mo
Texas Texas Family Code Chapter 154:  There is no presumptive minimum listed anywhere in the code. 
Utah Utah Code Section 78-45-7.7(6):  $30/mo

Vermont
Vt.Stat.title 15, Section 656(b):  While the statute refers to a "nominal support amount," it does not assign a 
presumptive minimum dollar amount to this level of support payment.

Virginia Va. Code Section 20-108.2(B):  $65/mo

West Virginia
WVC 48-13-302:  $50/mo or a discretionary amount set by the court based on the resources and living expenses of 
the parents and the number of children

Wisconsin
Administrative Rule DWD 40.04(4):  According to this statute, the minimum amount that may be ordered is 
discretionary based upon the payer's total economic circumstances.  

Wyoming Wyo. Stat. Section 20-2-303(b):  $50/mo for each family unit
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