Work Requirements
for Basic Food ABAWDs

Washington State Department of Social and Health Services
Economic Services Administration ¢ Community Services Division

Able-Bodied Adults Without Dependents

The U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Food and Nutrition Service has designated a subset of Basic
Food recipients as Able-Bodied Adults Without Dependents who are required to participate in
specific, employment-related activities to maintain their assistance (See WAC 388-444-0030). These
individuals must:

Be age 18-52".
Have no dependent children living with them.
Be physically and mentally able to work.

Have no exemptions from work registration.

(See WAC 388-444-0010).

What are the work requirements for Able-Bodied Adults Without
Dependents?

To receive Basic Food assistance beyond three months of non-participation, people who are not
exempt from the requirements must complete one of the following activities:

Work an average of at least 20 hours per week, or 80 hours per month.

Volunteer in the community through an approved Workfare site monthly (the number of
volunteer hours is determined based on the benefit amount).

Participate in an employment or training program, such as Basic Food Employment and Training,
or volunteer in an unpaid work program or another state-approved program for an average of 20
hours per week or 80 hours per month.

Is there a waiver?

DSHS requests waivers annually from USDA FNS to exempt identified counties or areas of the state
requiring participation. These participation waivers are dependent on unemployment rates in
comparison to the national average.

Under the current waiver, only King County has participation requirements for able-bodied adults
without dependents. Remaining counties in Washington state are currently exempt through Jan. 31,
2025.

For more information, please visit Able-Bodied Adults Without Dependents | DSHS (wa.gov)

'These changes are a result of H.R.3746 - 118th Congress (2023-2024): Fiscal Responsibility Act of 2023 | Congress.gov | Library of Congress.
Beginning October 2024, these requirements will expand to ages 18-54.
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Transformmg lives

8/2024



https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-444-0030
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=388-444-0010
https://www.dshs.wa.gov/esa-1
https://www.congress.gov/bill/118th-congress/house-bill/3746

