# DSHS Developmental Disabilities Community Services Group Homes

### Overview

Group homes offer person-centered instruction and support in a community-based, licensed residential facility that typically serve five to 12 adults. The services are based on individual need and shared support within the household. Services are offered in an integrated setting and support personal power, choice and full access to the community. Service can vary from a few hours to up to 24 hours per day.

Group homes are provider owned or leased. Individuals living in a group home keep a portion of their monthly income for personal needs. The remainder of the individual's income is used to cover food, shelter and the cost of care based on income and type of income.

Group homes contract statewide with Department of Social and Health Services' Developmental Disabilities Community Services. Group homes are licensed as assisted living facilities or adult family homes in addition to being certified by DSHS' Residential Care Services Division. The license identifies the number of people allowed in each home.

## **Eligibility Requirements**

DDA clients who are:

- 18 years of age or older.
- Currently on or approved for Home and Community-Based Services' Core waiver.
- Assessed to need support in a group home to meet their health and welfare needs in their Person-Centered Service Plan.



# Budget

A total of 44 individuals are supported in group homes statewide as of Sept. 1, 2023.

### Rates

Group home rates are based on the client's assessment and a tiered rate is determined. The reimbursement for each tier can be found in the "SL and GH" tab at <u>Developmental Disabilities rates</u>.

### Partners

- Individuals receiving services.
- Families of individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities.
- Self-advocates.
- Advocacy organizations.
- Counties.
- Service providers.
- DSHS' Residential Care Services Division.

(continued on next page)

Email questions to DDAFeedback@dshs.wa.gov or find a local office for telephone numbers.

### Washington State Department of Social and Health Services

DSHS 22-2007 (Rev. 5/25)



### **Oversight**

DSHS uses a formal process to evaluate provider compliance with laws, DDA policies and the DDA contract. DSHS' Residential Care Services Division evaluates contracted agencies at least every two years.

The RCS Division investigates complaints of abuse, neglect, exploitation, financial exploitation or mistreatment of clients.

#### External

- DSHS' ALTSA Residential Care Services Division.
- Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
- Office of the Washington State Auditor.
- Washington State Department of Health.

#### Internal

- DDA Office of Compliance, Monitoring and Training.
- DDA Office of Quality Programs and Stakeholder Involvement.



## Authority

Chapter 71A RCW, Developmental disabilities Chapter 388-825 WAC, DD service rules Chapter 388-828 WAC, DDA assessment Chapter 388-101 WAC, Certified residential services and supports Chapter 388-101D WAC, Requirements for providers of residential services and supports

<u>Chapter 388-76 WAC</u>, Adult family home minimum licensing requirements

<u>Chapter 388-78A WAC</u>, Assisted living facility licensing rules